Big Bash announces bigger schedule for next season

Big Bash announces bigger schedule for next season

With just over four months to go until the highly anticipated return of the KFC Big Bash League and the Rebel Women’s Big Bash League, Ten has announced that it will broadcast a whopping 55 matches over the coming summer.

Cricket Australia today released a bumper schedule that sees 40 KFC Big Bash League matches played in 48 days, including six double-headers. With all matches of the extended season broadcast in prime time, live, free and exclusive on TEN or ONE, fans will not miss a minute of the action.

The expanded KFC Big Bash League competition will see an additional eight matches played, with each club allocated one additional home match. The league will also venture to a new venue in Launceston, with other venues currently being considered.

Following on from last year’s success, the summer schedule will launch with a Rebel Women’s Big Bash League carnival at North Sydney Oval on Saturday, 9 December, that will see Network Ten broadcast four matches live across the weekend.

Across the season Ten will broadcast 12 Rebel Women’s Big Bash League matches, including the final, live on Ten or One

Network Ten Chief Executive Officer, Paul Anderson, said: “We are excited about and looking forward to another great summer of BBL and WBBL cricket on Network Ten.

“We are proud to be working with Cricket Australia on the future development of this competition, by broadcasting matches in new venues this summer.

“Together, Ten and Cricket Australia have built the Big Bash into the most anticipated sporting competition of the summer. This year looks particularly exciting, with eight extra matches taking us through until the first week of February.

“We can’t wait for the summer of cricket on Ten,” he said.

Cricket Australia Executive General Manager of Leagues and Events, Anthony Everard said:  “Network Ten’s ongoing commitment to both the WBBL and BBL means fans around the country can enjoy more of the Big Bash action.

“Starting with the standalone opening weekend, Network Ten will be broadcasting 12 matches of the WBBL, reinforcing their commitment to growing women’s cricket in Australia.

“Every BBL match will again be broadcast on Network Ten after averaging more than a million viewers every match last season, complementing the record-breaking attendance, which averaged more than 30,000 per regular season match.

The sizzling 2017-18 KFC Big Bash League season will kick off with the Sydney derby on Tuesday 19 December at Spotless Stadium.

The semi-finals will be played on Thursday, 1 February and Friday, 2 February, with the highest-finishing club to host the Big Final on Sunday, 4 February 2018.



No comments yet. Why don’t you start the discussion?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *