Ten to show Woman’s Big Bash League

Ten to show Woman’s Big Bash League

Ten has secured more Big Bash for summer

Ten will broadcast eight matches of the 2015-16 season of the inaugural Women’s Big Bash League, including the Final, live and free on One.

The eight-team Women’s Big Bash League is the first of its kind and the franchise-based Twenty20 tournament will be aligned with the existing KFC T20 Big Bash League structure, adopting the same colours and team names.

The inaugural season will feature the best women’s players in the country including Ellyse Perry, Julie Hunter, Jess Cameron, MegLanning, Megan Schutt, Holly Ferling, Rene Farrell and Sarah Elliott, as well as some international players.

Network Ten Head of Sport, David Barham, said: “Network Ten is delighted to be broadcasting the inaugural season of the Women’s Big Bash League live and free on ONE. “Australia has some of the best players in the world and we are delighted to support Cricket Australia with this exciting initiative. “The Women’s Big Bash League is a fantastic concept which will appeal to a broader television audience and gain greater exposure for the sport,” he said.

General Manager, Operations for Cricket Australia, Mike McKenna, said: “The Women’s Big Bash League is a significant step forward for women’s cricket in Australia, as we aim to create a visible pathway for talented female athletes. “The development of the league has been made even more significant by the support of Network Ten, whose outstanding broadcast will allow us to really showcase the high-quality competition to fans around the country.”

The 2015-16 season of the Women’s Big Bash League commences on December 5, 2015. ONE will broadcast its first match on Saturday, December 19, 2015.


No comments yet. Why don’t you start the discussion?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *