Screen Producers crown Masterchef The Best Reality TV of 2014

Last night Masterchef was crowned The Best Reality TV of 2014 after a spectacular season.

Accepting the award on behalf of the production, judges Matt Preston and George Calombaris paid tribute to the hard-working team behind the scenes who made MasterChef Australia an outstanding success in 2014.


Network Ten Chief Programming Officer, Beverley McGarvey, said: “The combination of great cooks, great food, great contestants and a great crew made MasterChef Australia the fastest-growing reality television series in Australia this year.


“The Screen Producers Australia Award is a great tribute to the show and everyone who worked on it. Thank you to the judges, the rest of the cast, the crew and everyone at Network Ten and Shine Australia who worked on the show. We are all very excited about bringing more great food and great cooks to Australians next year with Series 7 of MasterChef Australia.”

Peter Newman, Shine Australia’s Director of Programming agreed, adding: “There is a truly passionate and special team who put together MasterChef Australia.

“We’re proud not only to have won the Screen Producers Australia Award, but to have delivered a program in Series 6 that was honest and true to its promise of showcasing Australia’s best home cooks cooking extraordinary food. We can’t wait to see what great cooks emerge for 2015.”


The full list of Winners from last night’s awards is below


Production Business of the Year

Playmaker Media


Lifetime Achievement Award

Des Monaghan


Drama Television Production of the Year

Rake (Essential Media and Entertainment)


Comedy Television Production of the Year

The Moodys (Jungleboys)


Documentary Television Production of the Year

Who Do You Think You Are? (Artemis International)


Children’s Television Production of the Year

Nowhere Boys (Matchbox Pictures)


Light Entertainment Television Production of the Year

The Agony of Modern Manners (High Wire Films)


Reality Television Production of the Year

MasterChef (Shine Australia)


Telemovie or Mini Series Production of the Year

The Gods of Wheat Street (Every Cloud Productions)


Feature Film Production of the Year

The Railway Man (Pictures in Paradise)


Feature Length Documentary Production of the Year

I Am A Girl (Media Stockade)


Interactive Production of the Year

Secrets & Lies (Hoodlum)


Breakthrough Business of the Year

Carbon Media


Services and Facilities Business of the Year

Fox Studios Australia