Foxtel All-Stars Tim Cahill Scholarship Winners Announced

Foxtel All-Stars Tim Cahill Scholarship Winners Announced

This morning, Charlie Watt (Perth) and Lani Johnson (Cherrybrook NSW) were announced the first ever winners of the Foxtel All-Stars Tim Cahill Scholarship.

Charlie and Lani were chosen ahead of 22 other teenagers from all over Australia who took part in the Foxtel All-Stars Ambitions Tour in January.  This 5 day camp, funded by Foxtel and fronted by Socceroo superstar Tim Cahill, aimed to inspire the next generation of footballers to follow their dreams on and off the field.

The youngsters were put through their paces with intensive training sessions let by A-League and national coaches, rubbed shoulders with football legends and learnt from the best in the business with seminars and exclusive experiences, culminating in playing a curtain raiser game on the field at Pirtek Stadium in front of a sell-out crowd ahead of the Hyundai A-League Sydney derby.

Charlie Watt – Born in Stockport England, started his football journey at the young age of 5.  Now 15 years of age, Charlie is playing for Cockburn City U16 NPL and dreams of playing football professionally.

Lani Johnson – Dreams of playing for the Matildas, but in the shorter term is trying her luck to break into the premier league and hopefully one day the W-League.

For winning the scholarships Charlie and Lani receive

   Ongoing mentoring and support from Tim Cahill

          1 year Foxtel subscription

          2016 football registration fees

–          New Balance kit

–          Tickets to the 2016 Hyundai A-League Grand Final (flights, accommodation and exclusive experience included)

–          Overseas football experience at an EPL club

–          2017/18 Season A-League Membership for a team of their choice