ATP Cup comes to Nine next week

ATP Cup comes to Nine next week
Twelve countries, featuring the world’s best tennis players, will compete in the second edition of the ATP Cup, to be broadcast live on Nine, 9Gem and 9Now on Tuesday, February 2.

The tournament, hosted by Nick McArdle and Erin Molan, marks an exciting shift in team-format tennis.

The competition sees the sport’s best players putting their individual rivalries to one side as they compete for their country in the quest to triumph in the ATP Cup.

Top seed Serbia, headlined by world No.1 Novak Djokovic, will lead Group A, which also includes Germany and Canada. At the inaugural tournament last year, Serbia won the ATP Cup in Sydney.

Second seed Spain, runner-up to Serbia in 2020, has drawn Group B, which includes Greece and host country Australia. World No.2 Rafael Nadal again leads the way for his country.

Austria, headed by world No.3 Dominic Thiem, will have to advance through Group C against Italy and France. And in Group D, fourth seed Russia, headlined by reigning Nitto ATP Finals champion Daniil Medvedev, face Argentina and Japan.

Alex de Minaur has once again been named to lead Team Australia. He will be joined by John MillmanJohn Peers and Luke Saville.

De Minaur last year famously took Nadal to three sets in a thrilling match before Australia bowed out to Spain in the semi-finals.

The Aussies will face Spain in the round-robin stage this time around, along with Greece who have world No.6 Stefanos Tsitsipas leading the way.

This year’s five-day event will be played at Melbourne Park alongside two ATP 250 events, the Great Ocean Road Open and the Murray River Open. Following the group stage, the four group winners will advance to the knockout semi-finals to continue battling for the prestigious title.

The 2021 ATP Cup will feature 12 of the Top 13 players in the ATP Rankings. Each country is represented by four players, with each tie comprising two singles matches and one doubles match.

Serbia: Novak Djokovic, Dusan Lajovic, Filip Krajinovic, Nikola Cacic

Germany: Alexander Zverev, Jan-Lennard Struff, Kevin Krawietz, Andreas Mies

Canada: Denis Shapovalov, Milos Raonic, Peter Polansky, Steven Diez

Spain: Rafael Nadal, Roberto Bautista Agut, Marcel Granollers, Pablo Carreno Busta

Greece: Stefanos Tsitsipas, Michail Pervolarakis, Markos Kalovelonis, Petros Tsitsipas

Australia: Alex de Minaur, John Millman, John Peers, Luke Saville

Austria: Dominic Thiem, Dennis Novak, Philipp Oswald, Tristan-Samuel Weissborn

Italy: Matteo Berrettini, Fabio Fognini, Simone Bolelli, Andrea Vavassori

France: Gael Monfils, Benoit Paire, Nicolas Mahut, Edouard Roger-Vasselin

Russia: Daniil Medvedev, Andrey Rublev, Aslan Karatsev, Evgeny Dosnkoy

Argentina: Diego Schwartzman, Guido Pella, Horacio Zeballos, Maximo Gonzalez

Japan: Kei Nishikori, Yoshihito Nishioka, Ben McLachlan, Toshihide Matsui

ATP Cup Live On Nine, 9GEM  & 9Now From 11.30am Tuesday, February 2