AFLX set to spark on Seven

AFLX is ready to showcase the best of footy in a shortened format across three days with seven players a side and three on the bench.

AFLX is a new and different version of Australian Football and has been designed to take the traditional game from oval grounds to rectangular fields, while still containing all of the marks, goals and tackles that fans love.

Adelaide, Melbourne and Sydney will host individual tournaments featuring all 18 AFL clubs, beginning on Thursday February 15 at Hindmarsh Stadium.

Each AFLX tournament will see six AFL Clubs play across two pools in six matches, before culminating in a Grand Final.

Every match consists of two ten-minute halves with no time on and a three-minute half time break. There will be a five-minute break in between each of the six AFLX pool matches and a ten-minute break leading into the Grand Final.


The X in AFLX relates to the roman numeral character for the number ten which is a constant throughout the alternative version of the game.


Brian Taylor and James Brayshaw will lead the call for Seven’s team, with players from various clubs joining us each night in guest commentary.


TV Broadcast times:

Thursday February 15

AFLX – Adelaide

Pool A: Port Adelaide, Geelong Cats, Fremantle

Pool B: Adelaide Crows, West Coast Eagles, Collingwood

Queensland     5.30pm LIVE on 7TWO


Friday February 16

AFLX – Melbourne

Pool A: Carlton, Melbourne, North Melbourne

Pool B: Hawthorn, Essendon, St Kilda

Queensland     5.30pm LIVE on 7TWO

Saturday February 17

AFLX – Sydney

Pool A: GWS Giants, Richmond, Brisbane Lions

Pool B: Sydney Swans, Western Bulldogs, Gold Coast Suns

Queensland     3.00pm LIVE on 7mate

Ten quick facts about AFLX

  1. Played on a rectangular field (approx. 70m width x 110m length) with four posts at each end (as per a normal AFL field). Ground markings will showcase X as the centre square and 40m arcs.
  2. Two field umpires, two boundary umpires and one goal umpire at each end of the ground.
  3. Ten players per team, seven on field at all times and three on the interchange bench. No restrictions on player rotations.
  4. 10-minute quarters or halves depending on the tournament format.
  5. Free kick against for last touch out of bounds.
  6. Kick-ins from behind the goal line after all scores.
  7. No marks paid for backwards kicks (except in forward 40m area).
  8. Quarters commence with a ‘ball up’ in the centre and at least two players from each team starting inside the 40m arc.
  9. Free shot from forward 40m arc – directly in front for deliberate rushed behinds.
  10. 10-point super goals when goals kicked on the full from outside the 40m arc.