Stawell Gift set to fly on Seven

Australia’s oldest and richest foot race on Channel 7, 7mate, PLUS7 Live.

One of the world’s most famous and prestigious foot races, the Stawell Gift, will be broadcast on Seven again and for the first time in history, viewers can stream the event on the PLUS7 Live app.

A crack field has been assembled for this year’s race including Tasmanian teenage sprint sensation Jack Hale, New Zealand’s fastest man Joseph Millar and past winners Mitchell Williams-Swain, Andrew Robinson and Matt Wiltshire.

Seven will also broadcast the Women’s Gift that will see a stellar line up of elite sprinters, including Australia’s 100m record holder Melissa Breen and last year’s winner Grace O’Dwyer, competing for the coveted title and $60,000 prize pool.

The Stawell Gift is an institution at Central Park, as runners race for glory and prize money in a bid to become part of the race’s rich folklore.

Dating back to 1878, the Stawell Gift is run on grass over 120m up a slight gradient, athletes are handicapped according to form and ability, starting off various marks, as they aim to join athletics’ elite who have taken out the prestigious title.

The two and a half hour coverage on Easter Monday will include the event’s marquee race, heats and finals, with host Peter Donegan marking his 20 th anniversary broadcasting at the Stawell Gift.

Experts three-time Olympian Melinda Gainsford-Taylor and past Stawell Gift winner Jason Richardson will join Peter in commentary.

Broadcast times:

Stawell Gift

Easter Monday March 28

Sydney 12pm LIVE on 7mate

Melbourne 12pm LIVE on Channel 7

Bris/QLD 11am LIVE on 7mate

Adelaide 11.30am LIVE on Channel 7

Perth 9am LIVE on 7mate

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *